News Release

Membership Grows in Lae Papua New Guinea


On a bright Sunday morning on 25 June 2017, 832 members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints gathered at the chapel in Lae, Papua New Guinea to witness the creation of the new Lae Two Miles District. The new District consisted of four branches (congregations) - Lae, Taraka, Yalu and Nasuawampun.

The new volunteer leadership consisted of a new District Presidency including President Max Weman, as the new District President with Andrew Arpaas as his 1st Councelor and  Elder Mahina as his 2nd Councelor. Other leaders were also announced for the women's Relief Society organsation and for the Young Men and Young Women organisations.

The weekend was filled with celebration beginning Friday with day of dance and talent performances. Saturday morning the members of the four Branches gathered at the local school for a day of service cleaning the grounds. Sunday morning the members gathered at the church to witness the creation of the new District and the District Presidency.

Mission President Sitiveni Fehoko reflected, "It is a blessing for us to have great leaders that guide us and help us in hastening the work with the people of Paua New Guinea."

Church members visited Papua New Guinea long before the first missionaries arrived in 1980. The first branch in Port Moresby was organised 10 October 1979. Since then church membership has grown to 25,856, with 76 congregations, 2 missions.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.